Monday, September 21, 2009

Jason Bonham sets U.S. tour dates with Bonham; Slash also to welcome drummer at Las Vegas gig

Earlier this year, Jason Bonham reunited his first band, Airrace, and went on a U.K. tour with them.

So why not reunite his most successful solo band, Bonham, and go on a U.S. tour? The magic 8 ball says that's in his future.

Over a short time between 1989 and 1990, the band took its Zeppelin-influenced sound and released a hit single called "Wait for You" as well as a Gold-certified album The Disregard of Timekeeping.

Now, Bonham has just announced five shows in Florida and California next month. Here is the complete list of announced tour dates thus far:
The band, Bonham, is said to be performing its own music along with that of some of the drummer's other recent projects: UFO, Foreigner and, definitely, Led Zeppelin.

Tickets to the above shows are on sale now through Ticketmaster and can be purchased here.

In addition, Jason Bonham is to be in Las Vegas before those dates take place. He is scheduled to perform with Slash in an all-star show at the Mirage hotel and casino on Oct. 2. (Update: Jason did not perform this date as he evidently dropped out of the lineup in advance.)

It is shaping up to be similar in spirit to the June 30 gig in Norway that saw Bonham playing drums for Slash's 90-minute set that saw guest vocal appearances from Ozzy Osbourne, Fergie and Franky Perez. During that show, Perez sang "Immigrant Song" and "Whole Lotta Love," and Fergie sang "Black Dog."

For the Oct. 2 show, Slash's announced onstage guests are to include:
  • singer Courtney Love of Hole
  • guitarist Joe Perry of Aerosmith
  • drummer Tommy Lee of Mötley Crüe
  • singer Rob Zombie of White Zombie
  • drummer Matt Sorum of Guns N' Roses and Velvet Revolver
  • guitarist Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick
  • guitarist and singer Rocco DeLuca of Rocco DeLuca and the Burden
  • singer Nicole Scherzinger of the Pussycat Dolls
Plus, there are supposed to be other "surprise" celebrity appearances! Click here to reserve your spot at the event.

Slash was said to have been putting the finishing touches on a solo album in recent weeks. Drums on that album are said to be played by Josh Freese, who previously worked with Nine Inch Nails.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated prior to publication. Comments will not be published if they are deemed vulgar, defamatory or otherwise objectionable.